The Indian Wire » Politics » After BJP’s walkout, NP Prajapati unanimously elected as Madhya Pradesh assembly speaker
News Politics

After BJP’s walkout, NP Prajapati unanimously elected as Madhya Pradesh assembly speaker

Congress MLA NP Prajapati was elected as Speaker of the 15th Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly on January 8 after BJP Lawmakers staged a walkout in protest of the protem speaker’s refusal to let the opposition party propose the name of its nominee for the Speaker post

As the transactions in the assembly for the day began on Tuesday, the opposition BJP wanted to propose the name of its nominee Vijay Shah for the post of Speaker, which was not allowed by protem speaker Deepak Saxena.

The refusal by protem Speaker sparked protests with BJP MLAs entered to the Well of the House, forcing the protem speaker to adjourn the proceedings twice for a period of ten minutes each.

As the House reassembled, BJP MLAs announced a boycott of proceedings and staged a walkout from the assembly. Later, Congress members proposed the name of N Prajapati, the MLA from Gotegaon, in the absence of BJP MLAs, following which the protem speaker ordered a voice vote.

Prajapati secured all 120 votes of MLAs of Congress and its allies and elected as the Speaker of the of the 15th Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

The Kamal Nath led Congress Government has 114 MLAs and while it allies – SP has one, BSP 2 while 4 are from independents in the 230 member assembly. While BJP has 109 Members in the assembly. After BSP, Samajwadi Party extends support to Congress in Madhya Pradesh

Former chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has termed the development as a “black day for democracy”. He lashed out at Portem Speaker for not allowing to BJP to propose its candidate’s name and termed as ‘anti-democratic’. ‘This is the black day for democracy in the history of the Madhya Pradesh legislative assembly,” the former chief minister Chouhan said.

BJP MLAs, later, walked in a march to Raj Bhawan to submit a memorandum on the issue to Governor Anandiben Patel.

The Congress had stormed to Power last month in the state after 15 years.


-With inputs from Agencies

READ| Madhya Pradesh Farm Loan Waiver: Cabinet extends cutoff date from March to Dec 12, 2018

About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!