Opposition throws weight behind Chandrababu Naidu’s demand for Special Status to Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu who is sitting on his day-long protest against Centre over special status Issue received support from Opposition Leaders. His Protest was joined by Congress President Rahul Gandhi, National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah and Nationalist Congress Party‘s Majeed Memon.

Later, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, DMK‘s T Siva and TMC‘s Derek O’ Brien also reached to Andhra Pradesh CM & TDP Chief N Chandrababu Naidu’s day-long fast in Delhi.

Former Prime Minister & Congress leader Manmohan Singh also visited to show solidarity with Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu’s day-long fast. Sharad Yadav and Samajwadi Party leaders were also reached out to Naidu to show support.

Speaking from the podium, Congress President said, ‘I stand with the people of Andhra Pradesh. What kind of a PM is he? He did not fulfill the commitment made to the people of Andhra Pradesh. Mr Modi, tells a lie wherever he goes. He has got no credibility left.’

TMC Rajya Sabha Member Derek O’Brien attacked PM Modi, said, ‘Chandrababu Naidu ji, I would like to congratulate TDP. We started this fight 4 years back but there is a very important date – July 20, 2018 – when TDP brought in ‘No Confidence Motion’ in Lok Sabha. This scared Modi.’

He added while accusing Centre of misusing CBI, ‘After that on Jan 9, 2019 SP-BSP came together. After that, what happened on Jan 19? 2019 BJP finish. On that day senior leaders of 22 political parties came on the same stage. Why am I mentioning these dates? Because after all of them, BJP got one new ally – CBI’

While TDP Members in the Parliament stag a Protest demanding special status to Andhra Pradesh.

Speaking at his long day protest, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister termed this as a battle of  ‘Self-Respect’. He said, ‘If you won’t fulfill our demands, we know how to get them fulfilled. This is about self-respect of people of AP. Whenever there is an attack on our self-respect, we won’t tolerate it. I am warning this govt&particularly the PM to stop attacking an individual’.

TDP also held several protests within Parliament in Budget Session. TDP Members in Winter Session of Parliament has made several protests outside and within the house demanding special status to the State. However, Centre has clearly ruled out the possibilities of granting Special Status to Andhra Pradesh.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi who slated to Andhra Pradesh in January originally, had to later, postpone his visit to the state amidst protests by TDP members.

At present only 11 states – Assam, Jammu, and Kashmir, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Mizoram–have been granted financial aid under this category as a majority of these regions have hilly-terrain and have a considerable tribal population.

The demand to grant special Status to Andhra Pradesh surfaced after the bifurcation of the state into Two Parts that carved out Telangana, the youngest state of the nation in 2014. Andhra Pradesh’s capital, Hyderabad, was also shifted to Telangana after bifurcation in 2014.

The TDP had exited the BJP-led NDA last year over what its chief described as “injustice” done to Andhra Pradesh after its bifurcation. Naidu accused the Narendra Modi government of going back on a long-awaited promise of special state status for Andhra Pradesh.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here