Phase IV of Lok Sabha Polls : Complete details, analysis, Constituencies, prominent Candidates

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....

With the ongoing election season, politics is buzzing in the minds of citizens of the country with democracy and diversity as the roots of the election. The waves have seen a major portion of constituencies to go on polls in the first three phases of elections. With the advancement towards the final day, i.e. May 23, the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections will be held on Monday, April 29.

Phase four of the elections will see some important candidates of the political parties in the fray hoping to be elected from their respective constituencies. The national political parties contesting the elections include the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress (INC) with other regional party candidates in the fray.

The states that will go to polls in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabah elections on April 29 are Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Odisha, and West Bengal.

Bihar: The state will vote for five constituencies, Darbhanga, Ujiyarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai, and Munger in the fourth phase of elections on April 29. A total of 66 candidates have filed their nomination from the five constituencies.

The state has a grand opposition alliance of Congress, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP), Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM), and Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD).

The total voters in the five constituencies are 87,02,313.

Begusarai will have a tough fight between Communist Party Of India Marxist (CPIM) candidate Kanhaiya Kumar, Giriraj Singh of BJP, and Mo Tanveer Hassan of RJD.

With a total of 40 Lok Sabha seats in the state, 14 states have witnessed polls in the first three phases of elections. The remaining 26 seats will have elections in the four phases of elections on April 29, May 6, May 12, and May 19.

The interesting part about the 26 seats is that in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP won 18 out of these 26 Lok Sabha seats. BJP thus has strong competition in these seats.

Rajasthan: The 13 constituencies to go to polls on April 29 in Rajasthan are Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Jodhpur, Pali, Jalore, Udaipur, Chittorgarh, Bhilwara, Rajsamand, Barmer, Banswara, Jhalawar-Baran, and Kota.

The remaining 12 constituencies will go to polls in the fifth phase of elections on May 6.

There is a total of 115 candidates in fray for the 13 constituencies in the state. While Kota and Jalore has a maximum of 15 candidates each, Chittorgarh, Rajasmand, and Jodhpur have 10 candidates each. A total of 2.57 crores voters will go to polls.

Uttar Pradesh: The constituencies to go to polls in the fourth phase of elections are Kheri, Misrikh, Kanpur, Shahjahanpur, Unnao, Hardoi, Kannauj, Etawah, Hamirpur, Farrukhabad, Akbarpur, Jalaun, and Jhansi.

A total of 154 candidates will contest 13 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh on April 29. The voter turnout for the constituencies is 2,38,88,367.

Jharkhand: Three constituencies will go to polls in Jharkhand including Chatra, Lohardaga, and Palamu. The total candidates in fray for the Lok Sabha constituency are 59.

The voters’ list includes the name of 4526693 voters to vote for the Lok Sabha elections. 

Jharkhand has a grand alliance of opposition parties that are Congress, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

Maharashtra: The constituencies to go to polls in the fourth phase of elections in Maharashtra are Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai South and Mumbai South-Central, Maval and Shirur and Shirdi.

The state has 323 candidates in the fray and a total voter turn-out of 3,11,92,823.

BJP and Congress have a tough fight as Congress will be working hard to reclaim its 2014 lost seats because of Shiv Sena in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The most prominent candidates include the actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar fighting form the North Mumbai constituency, Priya Dutt fighting from North Central Mumbai on Congress ticket and Milind Deora from Mumbai South.

Jammu and Kashmir: Anantnag in all polling stations falling in Kulgam district will witness elections in the fourth phase of polling.

Total candidates who filed their nomination for the Lok Sabha election in the constituency are 18.

A total of 344224 number of voter will vote for the Lok Sabha polls in Jammu and Kashmir.

From the Anantnag constituency, People Democratic Party (PDP) chief Mehbooba Mufti will contest against Ghulam Ahmed Mir of Congress and Shri Sofi Youssaf from BJP.

Madhya Pradesh: The constituencies that will go to polls in the fourth phase of elections are Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla, Balaghat, and Chhindwara.

The total voters to go to polls in the state are 1,05,55,689. The total number of candidates in the fray are 108.

Odisha: The six constituencies to go to polls in the state are Mayurbhanj, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Bhandrak, Balasore, Jajpur.

The state has 52 candidates in the fray and has a voter turn-out of 95,14,883.

The BJD president Naveen Patnaik is the chief minister of Odisha.

West BengalThe state will hold the polls for 8 constituencies on Baharampur, Bardhamnan Purba, Bolpur, Birbhum, Asansol, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman-Durgapur.

The total candidates in the fray for the state are 945. The highest in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections. A total of 1,34,56,491 voters will cast their vote in West Bengal.

The state went to polls in all seven phases of the elections. A total of 552 paramilitary forces will be deployed in the state covering eight parliamentary seats.

The remaining constituencies will go to polls in the reaming three phases of elections on May 6, May 12, and May 19. The results for the Lok Sabha elections will be announced on May 23. 

Also, Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bengal govt to punish those who assaulted JU students

Kolkata, Sep 20 (IANS) Trinamool Congress secretary general and West Bengal Education Minister Partha Chatterjee on Friday said the...

Aadhaar may be made mandatory for claiming GST refunds: FM

Panaji, Sep 20 (IANS) The Goods and Services Tax Council chaired by Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Friday took an in-principle decision to...

PM Modi leaves on packed, week-long US visit

New Delhi, Sep 20 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday left for a week-long visit to the US, voicing confidence that his visit...

Kumar files anticipatory bail plea as CBI hunts for him (Lead)

Kolkata, Sep 20 (IANS) The CBI continued its raids in the city and a neighbouring district looking for elusive senior IPS officer Rajeev Kumar,...

Mamata accuses BJP, CPM of creating panic on NRC

Kolkata, Sep 20 (IANS) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Friday accused the BJP's local leaders and those of the CPI-M of creating...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This