The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Seeking Second Term, PM Modi files nomination for Varanasi
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Seeking Second Term, PM Modi files nomination for Varanasi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeking his second term files nominations on Friday for Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat for the mega polls 2019. He on the occasion was accompanied with Party’s Top Brasses and leaders from its allies across the nation.

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, LJP Chief Ram Vilas Paswan, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) Chief Sukhbir Singh Badal, AIADMK leaders O Panneerselvam and M Thambidura, Shiv Sena Boss Udhhav Thackeray were among from the NDA who joined the mega show of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

While BJP top Brasses including Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Nitin Gadkari and BJP Chief Amit Shah among others accompanied Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his nominations from the Kashi.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the party’s booth workers. He also visited the Kal Bhairav temple in the morning.

Earlier on Thursday, PM Modi held a 6 KM Roadshow after paying tributes to the statue of Pt Madan Mohan Malviya outside Banaras Hindu University. He also offered Ganga Aarti in Dashashwamedh Ghats.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: PM Modi holds massive Roadshow, Ganga Aarti in Varanasi ahead of filing nomination

Modi had in 2014 General elections defeated AAP’Arvind Kejriwal with over 3.80 Lakh votes. Prior to Narendra Modi, BJP Senior Leader Murli Manohar Joshi represented the Varanasi Seat since 2009-2014. However, he has was shifted to Kanpur in 2014 after Narendra Modi decided to contest from Varanasi.

Narendra Modi in a run-up to the national elections 2019 will take on SP’s Shalini Yadav, a joint candidate of Mahagathbandhan. While Congress has named Ajay Rai from the Lok Sabha Seat.

General Elections have already started and would spread across all seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

80 seats of the state will go to polls in all seven phases starting from April 11 till May 19. Phase-IV of Voting is slated for April 29. Varanasi will go to polls on May 19.

Counting of votes will take place on May 23, four days after the final round of Polling.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!