Political journey of Hemant Soren – 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) working president Hemant Soren taken oath as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand on Sunday. Governor of Jharkhand, Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office and secrecy to Hemant Soren. Large number of leaders from across the political spectrum attended Soren’s mega event at Mohrabadi Ground in Ranchi.

This will be Hemant Soren’s second stint as Jharkhand chief minister. Let’s take a look at his political background.

December 23, 2009 – The day when Soren started his political journey by getting elected as MLA. He later got elected as a member of Rajya Sabha on June 24, 2009.

He bagged the chair of Deputy Chief Minister on On September 11, 2010. Soren remained in that position till January 8, 2013. It took no time for Soren to grab the throne of Chief Minister as he was sworn in as Jharkhand’s CM within a span of 6 months (that is, on July 13, 2013) and is the incumbent Chief Minister of Jharkhand.

His rule was, however, short-lived as BJP seized power in 2014 in the politically unstable state and Raghubar Das took over. In 2014, Hemant Soren won a seat in the Jharkhand assembly and became the leader of the opposition.

Soren served his services in major departments that include Planning & Development, Cabinet (Election and Vigilance), Home, Cabinet Co-ordination, Information and Public Relations, Administrative Reforms & Raj Bhasha, Law, and others.

But it was not an easy path for Soren. Soren’s father, Shibu Soren was convicted in the Chirrudih massacre case. Elder brother, Durga Soren died of suspected kidney failure. Borther’s death and father’s conviction turned the focus of the situation on Hemant Soren who was then entrusted with the responsibility of running JMM.

Shibu Soren served as chief minister three times – first in 2005 for 10 days, then from 2008 to 2009 and again from 2009 to 2010. Shibu quit the Manmohan Singh cabinet owing to his court conviction and Hemant Soren emerged as heir apparent of the ‘Soren clan’ and won the Dumka Assembly seat in 2009.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here