Poll Commission announces Election for two Rajya Sabha Seat in Assam

New Delhi, May 14: The Election Commission on Tuesday announced elections to two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam which will fall vacant in mid-June when terms of sitting members – former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Congress‘ Santiuse Kujur – end.

If required, polling for the two seats will be held on June 7.

Manmohan Singh is into his fifth term as Rajya Sabha member and it ends June 14. Kujur’s term also ends the same day.

The notification will be issued on May 21.

The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) on the other hand, has reminded the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of an agreement that was inked between the two parties ahead of the Lok Sabha polls.

The AGP supported the BJP in 10 Lok Sabha seats, while it contested on three seats. It was also agreed that one of the Rajya Sabha seats would be given to the AGP.

Meanwhile, Congress is unlikely to field anyone this time as it does not have the required number to ensure the victory of its candidate, a senior party leader said.

A candidate requires at least 43 first preference votes to win a Rajya Sabha seat. While the Congress has 25 legislators in the House, the All India United Democratic Front has 13 legislators.

The ruling BJP has 61 legislators in the 126-member Assam Legislative Assembly. Its allies, AGP and Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) has 14 and 12 members, respectively. The BJP-led alliance also has the support of Independent legislators.

Assam’s 14 Lok Sabha Seats voted in three phases on April 11, April 18 and April 23 for mega polls 2019. In 2014 General Elections, BJP won 7, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and Congress on 3 seats each while 1 seat goes to Independent Candidate.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here