The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Poll Official seeks response from Kejriwal, others for claiming Hansraj Hans converted to Islam
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Poll Official seeks response from Kejriwal, others for claiming Hansraj Hans converted to Islam

The Delhi Chief Electoral Officer on Friday sought a reply of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and other Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Leaders for accusing BJP’s northwest Delhi candidate, Hans Raj Hans, of converting to Islam in 2014.

Apart from AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal, other two leaders who were pulled by the Poll Commission includes minister Rajendra Pal Gautam and AAP candidate Gugan Singh. All three leaders are asked by the Poll Officials to file a reply by Saturday 5 pm.

It came days after Arvind Kejriwal in a tweet said that people should not vote on someone who is going to be disqualified. ‘Hans Raj Hans is ineligible to fight from a reserved seat. He will finally be declared ineligible. Voters from North West Delhi shud not waste their votes on him’, said Kejriwal in a tweet.

Responding to the claims, BJP Leader and Delhi Leader of Opposition Vijendra Gupta along with Hansraj Hans filed a complaint with the Poll Commission. Hansraj Hans talking to media slammed AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal and denied the charges. Hansraj Hans in a run-up to the national polls will take on AAP’s Gugan Singh Ranga and Congress Rajesh Lilothia.

He has has been replaced with sitting MP Udit Raj, who later joined Indian National Congress.

Similarly, the Chief Electoral Officer of the national capital on Thursday has sought replies from three top AAP leaders – Party Chief Arvind Kejriwal, AAP Candidates Raghav Chadha and Atishifor making their tweets asking voters ‘not to waste their votes’ by voting for BJP candidates Gautam Gambhir and Ramesh Bidhuri claiming that they will be ‘disqualified’ soon.

Aam Aadmi Party in the national capital is contesting on all seven seats. In a run-up to the polls 2019, the party has named Atishi Marlena from Delhi East, Raghav Chaddha from Delhi South, among others for the mega battle of ballots.

Aam Aadmi Party in a run-up to the mega polls will take on Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress. 

All 7 parliamentary seats of the national capital will go to polls on May 12.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!