BJP picks Goa Assembly Speaker Pramod Sawant as new Chief Minister; allies offered Deputy CM posts

Pramod Sawant

In a quick turn of events on Monday late night, Goa Speaker Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the 13th chief minister hours after the death of Goa CM Manohar Parrikar. This came after Bhartiya Janta Party offered Deputy Chief Minister post to both its allies Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party.

Goa Forward Party Chief Vijai Sardesai and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party leader Ramkrishna Dhavalikar have been offered the post of deputies to Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant.

Pramod Sawant after being appointed as the Chief Minister of the tiniest state asserted the need of the stable government in the state. He said as quoted by news agency ANI, ‘t’ll be my responsibility to complete the incomplete works. I will not be able to work as much as Manohar Parrikar ji but I will definitely try to work as much as possible’.

Apart from inducting new Chief Minister in the state, 11 leaders from both its allies Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party took oath as the state ministers. It includes Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party leader Manohar Ajgaonkar, BJP’s Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik and Nilesh Cabral, Goa Forward Party’s Vinod Palyekar and Jayesh Salgaonkar & Independent MLAs Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade also took oath at the Raj Bhavan as state cabinet ministers.

This is the first time that the Goa would have two Deputy Chief Ministers. The decision to appoint Pramod Sawant as the new Chief Minister came after BJP National President Amit Shah and Nitin Gadkari held deliberations with MLAs in Panaji.

This came after Congress early in the day claim stake to form a government after the death of Goa CM Manohar Parrikar. In the letter to Governor of Goa, Congress leader Chandrakant Kavlekar said that the coalition allies had aligned with the BJP in 2017 with a written condition that it would support a BJP-led government only if Mr Parrikar leads the coalition as Chief Minister.

They asserted that in the absence of Manohar Parrikar, BJP is left with no allies.

Congress has 14 MLAs, BJP has 12, MGP has 3, Goa Forward has 3 and  Nationalist Congress has 1 while 3 are independent lawmakers.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here