The Indian Wire » Politics » Puducherry CM V Narayanaswamy holds Cabinet meet to finalize next Assembly Speaker
News Politics

Puducherry CM V Narayanaswamy holds Cabinet meet to finalize next Assembly Speaker

Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanaswamy on Sunday held a cabinet meeting to discuss and finalize the name of the next Puducherry Assembly Speaker. The election to Assembly Speaker is slated for Monday, June 3. Apart from the Chief Minister, many ministers including R. Kamalakannan among others held a discussion to finalize the name of the Assembly speaker.

Earlier on Tuesday last week, Pradesh Congress Committee met and consulted all legislators to finalize the name of next Speaker of the House.

Puducherry Assembly will elect its new Speaker on June 3, a date fixed by Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi. Bedi, the Lieutenant Governor also summed the Puducherry Assembly to hold meet at Assembly on Monday at 9:30 where the election of New Speaker will be held.

In a press statement issued on May 31, Friday, A Vincent Rayar, Secretary of Legislative Assembly Secretariat stated informed the date of the election to the post of Assembly Speaker.

Currently, Deputy Speaker V P Sivakolundhu is serving as the officiating Speaker of the House.

The re-election to the post was necessitated after the sitting Speaker V Vaithilingam of Congress resigned on March 21 to contest Lok Sabha Polls from the lone seat of Puducherry. Vaithilingam of Indian National Congress, a part of DMK Alliance defeated K. Narayanasamy of the All India NR Congress with over 1.96 Lakh votes. NR Congress was a part of AIADMK and BJP Alliance.

In a 33-member Assembly, Congress is heading the government with DMK with 18 MLAs while AIADMK has 4, All India NR Congress has 7 legislators and Independent 1. Three members out of 33 are nominated.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!