Rajasthan Polls: 7 out of 15 Congress Muslim Candidates secure victory

Seven out of 15 Muslim candidates fielded by the Indian National Congress won the Rajasthan Assembly elections against the zero in 2013 assembly elections.

Amin Kagzi won from Kishanpole seat this time. He lost in 2013 Assembly elections. INC candidate Rafiq Khan from Adarsh Nagar Constituency. Zahida Khan who lost 2013 assembly elections managed to won in 2018 from Kaman. Danish Abrar of Congress from Swai Madhopur seat.

Shaleh Mohammad from Pokaran won this time, he lost 2013 assembly elections. While others who secured a victory in this time include, Amin Khan from Sheo and Hakam Ali Khan from Fatehpur. Amin Khan had also contested the 2013 Assembly elections but had to face defeat amid a BJP wave.

The only Muslim candidate fielded by the BJP – Yoonus Khan – lost the election to Congress’s Sachin Pilot in Tonk constituency.

Congress emerged the single-largest party with 99 seats out 199 seats in 200 assembly seat state. It’s ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won one seat for a total of 100 seats — the required number to form a government in Rajasthan. The BJP got 73 seats. In the meanwhile, BSP Supremo Mayawati extends its support to the Congress in both Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here