Ram Nath Kovind becomes the 14th President of India; More Details

NDA Candidate Ram Nath Kovind has been announced as the new President of India. Incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee will be vacating the office on 24 May and Kovind will assume office from the next day.

Former Governor of Bihar Ram Nath Kovind is the 14th President of India and he happens to be the 2nd Dalit Leader after RK Narayana,n to hold the post since independence.

Kovind won with a clear majority of over 65.6% votes which is – 702,044 electoral college votes defeating the opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar, who got 34.35& of the total votes, which is – 367,314 electoral college votes. According to reports, there was cross voting in UP, Gujarat and Goa during the elections.

522 MPs voted for Kovind, while 225 parliamentarians voted for Meira Kumar.

Uttar Pradesh has till date given 9 Prime Ministers to India, but it is for the first time that a President will hail from the state.

The opposition candidate, former Lok Sabha Speaker thanked her supporters and well wishers after the results were announced and said that her fight for secularism, the oppressed & the marginalised will continue.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated both the candidates for contesting a healthy competition. He congratulated Meira Kumar saying that her campaign was in the spirit of the democratic ethos & values.

Expressing his emotions over the victory of Ram Nath Kovind Modi said that knowing Kovind has always been a privilege now and even 20 years back.