Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad introduces Aadhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill in Lok Sabha

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad on Monday introduced the Aadhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2019 in Lok Sabha. The Union Cabinet had on June 12 cleared the bill which was lapsed after the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

The Union Cabinet during Narendra Modi’s previous government had in March cleared the promulgation of the Aadhar ‘Ordinance’ after it failed to get a nod from the Rajya Sabha. The Bill aims to allow individuals to offer voluntarily biometric ID as a means of identity verification for obtaining services such as opening a bank account, or new SIM connection, etc.

The Bill was cleared in 16th Lok Sabha on January 4 but could not be taken up for consideration by the Rajya Sabha. This legislation provided for an individual to voluntarily use her Aadhaar number to establish her identity, by authentication or offline verification.

However, with the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha, it got lapsed. Among the most controversial bills that lapsed were Citizenship Amendment Bill 2016, Triple Talaq Bill, Adhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2019 that was cleared by Lok Sabha but got stuck in the upper House of the Parliament.

While earlier in the day, Minister of State (MoS) in the ministry of micro small and medium enterprises Pratap Sarangi moves a motion of thanks on the President’s address.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah will table the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation (Amendment) Bill.

The Bill sought to give reservation in government jobs and educational institutions to those living within 10 km of the International Border in Jammu on a par with people living along the Line of Control in Kashmir.

Earlier, Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad on Friday tabled the Triple Talaq Bill in the Lok Sabha with opposition parties’ chaos.

The first session of Lok Sabha began on June 17th with the oath-taking ceremony of all the new MPs. While the election to the Lok Sabha Speaker held on Wednesday, June 19. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Lok Sabha MP from Kota Om Birla elected to the post unanimously.

The Economic Survey will be released on the 4th of July a day before. While next day, that is on July 5th, new Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will table the full-fledged budget in the House.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Thomas Cook collapses after 178 yrs in business (Lead)

London, Sep 23 (IANS) After being in business for 178 years, British travel giant Thomas Cook has collapsed, leaving...

Modi says ‘sorry’ to Senator’s wife for his absence

New York, Sep 23 (IANS) 'Howdy Modi' was not just about fiery speeches and a show of strength by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and...

Man wanted in multiple cow slaughter cases held in UP

Rampur, Sep 23 (IANS) The city police have arrested a man involved in multiple cases of cow slaughter here in Uttar Pradesh after...

Patrick Adams shares throwback snaps of ‘Suits’

Los Angeles, Sep 23 (IANS) As the finale episode of the popular show "Suits" is going to air this week, actor Patrick Adams, who...

Ravi Shankar memorabilia found in Mumbai scrap shop

By Durga ChakravartyNew Delhi, Sep 23 (IANS) SMM Ausaja, a film archivist and poster collector, has hit the goldmine in a local scrap shop...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This