Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Re-polling underway at 1 booth in North Kolkata in West Bengal

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Re-polling underway at polling station number 200 in North Kolkata parliamentary constituency. Election Commission of India had on Tuesday declared void the poll held on 19 May at the polling station.

As per rules, all the political parties and the contesting candidates have also been intimated about the repolling as per the directions of Election Commission of India.

It came after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) high-Level Delegation comprising Union Ministers Piyush Goyal and Nirmala Sitharaman met the ECI Officials in New Delhi. They demanded re-polling in all polling booths that were hit by violence during the seventh and the last phase of elections on Sunday.

In Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha Seat, BJP Candidate Rahul Sinha is up against TMC‘s Sitting MP Sudip Bandyopadhyay and CPI(M)’s Kaninika Bose Ghosh

In 2014 polls Bandyopadhyay defeated Rahul Sinha of BJP with around 90,000 votes. Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha Seat went to polls on May 19 during the seventh and the last phase of elections.

Elections for 543 Lok Sabha seats were held between April 11 and May 19 across 7 phases of elections. The counting of votes for the mega polls is scheduled for May 23.

Just like the last and the seventh phase of elections, the initial 6 phases in the state witness massive incidents of violence. Both TMC and BJP ever since the start of national polls is in loggerheads. BJP in a run-up to the polls is leaving no stone unturned to make a big dent in Mamata’s Bastion and eyeing a lion share from 42 Lok Sabha Seats.

Majority of the Exit polls have predicted that Bharatiya Janata Party is making inroads in Mamata Banerjee‘s bastion. BJP is predicted to bag big in West Bengal that sends 42 parliamentarians to the Lok Sabha.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Govt invites bids for BPCL, Concor strategic sale

New Delhi, Nov 22 (IANS) Pacing up the disinvestment calendar to meet a daunting target by March 31, DIPAM...

No plans to stop manufacture of Vande Bharat rakes: Govt

New Delhi, Nov 22 (IANS) The government on Friday said that it has no plans to discontinue the manufacture of Vande Bharat Express rakes...

12-year-old dead as flying ‘cricket’ bat hits head

Alappuzha (Kerala), Nov 22 (IANS) Even as the state is yet to recover from the death of a young school girl following a snake...

Rohtang Tunnel to be opened in May next year: Rajnath

New Delhi, Nov 22 (IANS) The majestic Rohtang Tunnel beneath the Rohtang Pass in Himachal Pradesh will be opened to the traffic in May...

Oppo working on its proprietary chipset: Report

Beijing, Nov 22 (IANS) Taking a cue from smartphone makers like Huawei and Samsung who make their own processors, Chinese handset maker Oppo is...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This