The Indian Wire » Politics » Shiromani Akali Dal Announces First Candidate for LS Polls in Punjab; Bibi Jagir Kaur to Contest From Khadoor Sahib
News Politics

Shiromani Akali Dal Announces First Candidate for LS Polls in Punjab; Bibi Jagir Kaur to Contest From Khadoor Sahib

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) who has in a run-up to the general elections stitched alliance with Bhartiya Janta party has on Tuesday announced its first Candidate for the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls in Punjab.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) Chief Sukhbir Singh Badal while addressing a public gathering at Tarn Taran District of the state announced the party’s first candidate. While speaking in the public meeting, Badal said that his party has decided to field Bibi Jagir Kaur from Khadoor Sahib Lok Sabha Seat.

Khadoor Sahib Parliamentary Seat is a part of nine assembly constituencies including – Tarn Taran, Khadoor Sahib, Khemkaran, Patti, Baba Bakala, Jandiala, Kapurthala, Sultanpur Lodhi and Zira.

Bibi Jagir Kaur had in past represented Bholath Constituency in Punjab Assembly. She was also a minister in BJP-SAD Government, however, she had a step down in 2012 after a court had sentenced her to five-years imprisonment. She was later in 2018 December gets clean cheat by the Punjab and Haryana High Court in a case of forcible abortion and abduction of her daughter, Harpreet Kaur. Her Daughter was in 2000 died under mysterious circumstances.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has already announced its poll alliance with Bhartiya Janta Party, with BJP will contest on 3 Lok Sabha Seats while Shiromani Akali Dal will field its candidates on remaining 10 Lok Sabha Seats. Punjab has a total of 13 Lok Sabha Seats.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon