Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Sadhvi Pragya gets BJP ticket from Bhopal; to take on Congress Stalwart Digvijay Singh

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday announced another list in a run-up to the national elections 2019. The Bharatiya Janata Party in its latest list named all 4 candidates from Madhya Pradesh.

The party named Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts, to contest against Congress Stalwart Digvijay Singh from Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat. Sadhvi earlier in the day joined BJP in Bhopal.

Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat is considered as a stronghold of the saffron party. BJP had held the seat 8 times since 1989, Congress had last won an election in 1984 on the seat. In 2014 General Elections, BJP’s Alok Sanjar defeated Congress’ PC Sharma with over 3.5 lakh votes.

BJP Senior Leader Uma Bharti had in 1999 won from the seat by defeating Congress’ Suresh Pachori with over 1.7 lakh votes.

Other names in the list include KP Yadav from Guna who will be taking on Congress Jyotiraditya Scindia, Raj Bahadur Singh from Sagar and Ramakant Bhargav from Vidisha.

With this, The party has now declared candidates on 402 Parliamentary Seats and 22 in Madhya Pradesh.

Bhartiya Janta Party earlier in its first list of 184 Candidates announced Prime Minister Narendra Modi contesting from Varanasi, BJP President Amit Shah from Gandhi Nagar. While the party in its other lists declared BJP Spokesperson Sambit Patra from Puri, Odisha, Smriti Irani from Amethi, Rajnath Singh from Lucknow, among others.

READ: Check out the full list of BJP Candidates for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and 91 constituencies across 20 Staes and UTs have voted on April 11 as a part of Phase-I of Voting. General Elections 2019 would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting. Voting in 29 seats of Madhya Pradesh will be held across in 4 phases: April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

In 2014 General elections, amidst heavy Modi wave, BJP swept MP with 27 seats, while Congress managed to bag only 2 seats in the state.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here