SC directs EC to decide on all 9 complaints by Congress against PM Modi, Amit Shah by May 6

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Supreme Court on Thursday directed the Election Commission to decide before May 6, the 9 complaints filed by Congress party against PM Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah for allegedly violating the Model Code of Conduct, reported ANI.

Earlier the Top Court on Tuesday issued a notice to Election Commission of India and asked the Poll Commission to file a response on the plea filed by Congress MP Sushmita Dev seeking Court Direction to EC to initiate action against PM Narendra Modi and Bharatiya  Janata Party Chief Amit Shah for allegedly violating the Poll Code.

READ: SC issues notice to Poll Office for ‘Inaction’ against PM Modi, Amit Shah for Poll Code Violations

The Top Court order came on the petition filed by the Congress MP Sushmita Dev on Monday that sought urgent and necessary directions to the Election Commission to take a decision on the complaints filed against PM Modi & BJP President Amit Shah.

In the petition filed by the All India Mahila Congress Chief, Dev accused PM Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah of violating the Poll Code by – seeking votes in the name of religion and polarisation of votes, invoking armed forces in the campaigns, taking out rallies on an election day.

It should be noted that the Poll Commission in the past 2 days have granted ‘clean chits’ to PM Modi over his election speech which he made in poll rallies. EC said that PM Narendra Modi speeches in Latur and Wardha district of Maharashtra do not violate the model code of conduct.

PM Modi while addressing a poll rally on April 9 at Latur district of Maharashtra urged first-time voters to cast their votes for the CRPF Jawans who were killed in Pulwama Terror Attack. However, the poll commission does not find the statement, a violation of the model code of conduct.

Congress had moved to the Poll Commission with multiple complaints against Prime Minister Narendra Modi. General Elections 2019 is being across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. The remaining 169 Lok Sabha seats will go to polls in remaining three phases.

Counting of the votes will be held on May 23.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Yashasvi Jaiswal becomes youngest to score List A double hundred

Alur (Karnataka), Oct 16 (IANS) Mumbai opener Yashasvi Jaiswal on Wednesday scripted history as he became the youngest batsman...

Mamata visits Nobel winner’s Kolkata house, meets mother

Kolkata, Oct 16 (IANS) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday visited the south Kolkata residence of Nobel prize winner Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee...

No decision yet on Ashwin’s future in KXIP, says Kumble

By Abhishek UpadhyayNew Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) Kings XI Punjab's newly-appointed Director of Cricket Operations Anil Kumble on Wednesday said no final decision has...

‘DoT looking at spectrum pricing, payment method overhaul’

New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) Telecom Secretary Anshu Prakash on Wednesday said all aspects of spectrum reforms are being looked at, including spectrum payment...

Navy trying to control Goa’s land resources: BJP Minister

Panaji, Oct 16 (IANS) Goa's Transport Minister Mauvin Godinho on Wednesday once again lashed out at the Indian Navy, accusing it of using the...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This