Supreme Court seeks EC response for not announcing by-elections dates in ‘three’ seats of Tamil Nadu

Supreme Court-Bankruptcy law

The Top Court on Friday issued notice and seek a response from Election Commission on the plea filed by DMK that sought EC to notify by-elections and publish a schedule of elections in Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram and Thiruparankundram assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu, along with other by-elections to be held on April 18.

The Apex Court Bench comprising Justices SA Bobde directed EC to furnish response within 14 days from now.

DMK moves to the top Court hours after EC notified by-elections in 18 out of 21 vacant assembly seat in the state citing that three seats are bound by litigation and is pending in the court.

The 18 Assembly Seats that are slated for by-elections are –  Poonamallee, Perambur, Tiruporur, Sholinghur, Gudiyatham, Ambur, Hosur, Pappireddipapatti, Harur, Nilakkottai, Tiruvarur, Thanjavur, Manamadurai, Andipatti, Periyakulam, Sattur, Paramakudi and Vilathikulam.

Out of all 18 seats, the by-polls in 16 seats were necessitated after the disqualification of the sitting MLAs under the anti-defection law. While in the other two seats, Tiruvarur seat has been necessitated by the death of sitting member and late DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi while the Hosur seat fell vacant following the disqualification of Minister K Balakrishna Reddy after his conviction by a court in over a decades-old criminal case.

As per the Poll Panel, Candidates can file nominations from March 19 and March 26, While The last date to withdraw nominations is March 29. The state will poll on April 18 to elect a parliamentarian, while by-elections in 18 assembly seats are also slated to take place on same day.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here