The Indian Wire » Politics » Shiromani Akali Dal to contest upcoming Haryana polls; Balwinder Bhunder to finalize seat-sharing formula with BJP

Shiromani Akali Dal to contest upcoming Haryana polls; Balwinder Bhunder to finalize seat-sharing formula with BJP

Charging up the electoral battle of forthcoming Haryana polls, Shiromani Akali Dal has also jumped into the race. The party announced on Tuesday that it will also contest the assembly polls in Haryana.

The decision is said to be taken by a core committee chaired by party chief Sukhbir Singh Badal. The decision is very crucial as the ally of SAD party, Bhartiya Janta Party is in power in the state. The state will go to polls for its 90 assembly seats.

Many leaders from Shiromani Akali Dal attended the meeting presided by Sukhbir Singh Badal. The prominent faces were of Balwinder Singh Bhunder, Mahesh Inder Singh Grewal, Daljit Singh Cheema, Baldev Singh Mann, Upinderjit Kaur, Janmeja Singh Sekhon, Sikander Singh Maluka, Hari Singh Zira, Charanjit Singh Atwal, Nirmal Singh Kahlon, Bikram Singh Majithia, Prof Prem Singh Chandumajra, Gulzar Singh Ranike and Surjit Singh Rakhra.

Party’s spokesperson Harcharan Singh Bains also said that the party is planning to organize a worker’s meeting on 22 September at Kurukshetra. The meeting is expected to carry on with the interview process of the interested candidates. Such candidates have already been asked to submit their applications by 22 September. It has been reported that a screening committee led by Balwinder Bhunder will carry out the process for finalizing the names.

Balwinder Bhunder will also chair a committee that will chalk out a seat-sharing formula with its ally- Bhartiya Janta Party in the Haryana state. It is expected that if the SAD party will go alone in polls, it might affect the bond between the two.

The meeting also saw the passage of two resolutions. One is the “promotion of Punjabi language” and other being the “release of Sikh prisoners” beyond their terms. The party has urged the Union government to carry out the required measures to order an immediate release of such Sikh prisoners who have completed their sentence.

Campaign committees for Jalalabad and Dakha by-elections were also set up during the meeting. Haryana poll campaign committee was also set up that include Prem Singh Chandumajra and Surjit Singh Rakhra. The committee will build the strategy of the party’s election campaign.

The core committee also paid its tribute to the late BJP leader Arun Jaitley.

ALSO READ: Sonia Gandhi appoints two new office-bearers to Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee

About the author

Saurabh Parmar

Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!