Samajwadi Party Announces First List of Candidates for LS Polls 2019; Mulayam Singh to Contest from Mainpuri

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Samajwadi Party who has stitched an alliance with BSP, on Friday announced its first list of 6 Lok Sabha Candidates for the upcoming General Elections which are now just weeks away. As per the statement released by the party, Samajwadi party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest from Mainpuri parliamentary seat. Apart from him, Party has announced names of five other candidates in its first ‘such list’.

Other Candidates Includes – Dharmendra Yadav from Badaun, Akshay Yadav from Firozabad, Kamlesh Katheriya from Etawah SC Reserved seat, Bhailal Kol from Robertsganj (Sonbhadra) SC reserved Seat, while Shabbir Valmiki from Bahraiach SC reserved seat.

However, the party has not announced from which constituency it’s Chief Akhilesh Yadav will contest. However, it is expected that Akhilesh Yadav will contest from party stronghold Kannauj.

“Netaji [Mulayam Singh Yadav] will contest the Lok Sabha election from Mainpuri while I will from Kannauj,” Akhilesh said in Saifai last week.

Kannauj has the distinction of electing socialist ideologue Ram Manohar Lohia in 1967 and Mulayam Singh Yadav in 1999 Lok Sabha polls.

Samajwadi Party’s announcement came hours after Congress announced its 11 candidates for Uttar Pradesh and 4 for Gujarat in its first list of Candidates.

ALSO READ: Congress Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019; Rahul to Contest from Amethi, Sonia from Rae Bareli

Both Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party had on February 21 finalized the seat sharing arrangement for Lok Sabha Polls 2019 in Uttar Pradesh. While Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) will fight on 38 seats, Akhilesh’s Samajwadi Party is set to contest on 37 seats in the crucial polls. The SP-BSP Alliance will not field its candidates from Congress Bastions – Amethi and Rae Bareli. RLD gets 3 Lok Sabha seat in the alliance,Ajit Singh led part will field its candidate of Mathura, Muzaffarnagar and Baghpat.

The 37 seats in the SP quota include Kairana, Sambhal, Rampur, Mainpuri, Firozabad, Badaun, Bareilly, Lucknow, Etawah, Kanpur, Jhansi, Banda, Allahabad, Kaushambi, Phulpur, Faizabad, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Azamgarh, Varanasi, Moradabad, Kannauj amomg other constituencies.

The BSP will contest from Saharanpur, Bijnor, Fatehpur Sikri, Agra, Dhaurahara, Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Kaiserganj, Basti, Aligarh, Salempur, Jaunpur, Sitapur, Bhadohi among other constituencies.

Both the parties have also forged an alliance in Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh and have decided to go together in Lok Sabha Polls 2019.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Venture capital firm India Quotient closes third fund of $60 million

India Quotient, a venture capital firm, which invests aggressively into the Indian startups, has closed its third fund of...

Around 7,414 startups reognized by DPIIT till November 5, says Piyush Goyal

The Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT), has recognized around 7,414 startups in this fiscal till November 5, cited ET. The figures...

Steam finally releases its ‘Remote Play Together’ feature for all today

Back in September, Valve added a new update to Steam focussing towards its recommendation feed to be more precise and diverse while suggesting titles, by making algorithmic...

Lawyers’ team to present SC verdict copy to Ram Lalla

Ayodhya, Nov 21 (IANS) Lawyers, who represented Ram Lalla Virajman in the long-drawn battle over the Ram Janmabhoomi-Babri Masjid title dispute case, will now...

Indo-US first ever tri-service exercise concludes on Thursday

New Delhi , Nov 21 (IANS) Tiger Triumph, the first-ever US-India tri-service exercise concludes on Thursday.It signals deepening of security ties between the two...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This