The Indian Wire » Politics » Setback for Samajwadi Party: MP Neeraj Shekhar resigns from Rajya Sabha; likely to join BJP

Setback for Samajwadi Party: MP Neeraj Shekhar resigns from Rajya Sabha; likely to join BJP

In what can be seen as a major blow to Akhilesh Yadav led Samajwadi Party (SP), its Rajya Sabha MP Neeraj Shekhar on Monday tendered his resignation from the Upper House of the Parliament which was later accepted by Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu.

Shekhar, son of former Prime Minister and socialist leader Chandra Shekhar, was elected to the Rajya Sabha after he unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha Polls 2014 from Ballia Parliamentary Seat. Shekhar’s term in the Upper House is slated to end in November next year.

The resignation of the 55-year old Politician has triggered buzz about him join the Bharatiya Janata Party. Shekhar, on Tuesday, was seen with BJP MP Anurag Thakur in the Parliament complex.


Shekhar, a two-time Lok Sabha MP, was first elected to Lok Sabha in a by-polls in Ballia in 2007 after his father’s death. Shekhar managed to retain Ballia Lok Sabha Seat in the 2009 national polls. However, he got defeated in 2014 after which Samajwadi Party picked him for the Upper House of the Parliament.

In the national polls 2019, Samajwadi Party named former legislator Sanatan Pandey who eventually lost the Ballia seat. However, Sources claimed Shekhar had been feeling sidelined after being ignored for the Ballia ticket.

Reacting on the development, Samajwadi Party Spokesperson Rajendra Chaudhary raised questions and said Shekhar should at least stuck to morals and values.

Speaking to media, Chaudhary said, ‘The party has nominated him for Upper House even he lost the polls, It is unfair on Shekhar’s behalf to take such a step.

Sources familiar with the ongoing development claimed that Shekhar told Rajya Sabha Chairperson Venkaiah Naidu that he is resigning voluntarily and would not want to rethink on the matter. Following the provisions of the Rajya Sabha Rules, the Chairman accepted the resignation.

It should be noted that BSP-SP Alliance faced a crushing defeat in the state national polls. In Uttar Pradesh, BJP bagged 62 seats and with its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) it took its tally to 64 seats out of the 80 Lok Sabha Seat. While Mahagathbandhan bagged 15 seats – BSP 10 and SP 5 – while Congress only managed to retain its bastion Rae Bareli.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!