Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Sunny Deol holds roadshow; offers prayers at Gurdwara in Gurdaspur

Actor-turned-politician and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Sunny Deol on Thursday holds a roadshow in Gurdaspur – a parliamentary seat from where Deol is making his electoral debut in the national polls 2019.

Deol early in the day offered prayers at the Gurdwara Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur. He is pitched against Congress sitting MP Sunil Jakhar, Aam Aadmi Party’s Peter Masih and People’s Democratic Alliance’s Lal Chand.

Jarkhar has recently questioned the actor’s knowledge about the constituency and slammed him saying that he has no vision to offer to the electorates of the Gurdaspur Parliamentary seat.

The actor had joined Bharatiya Janata Party on April 23 in presence of Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal. He has been named by the party for Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Seat in Punjab – a seat which was represented by Vinod Khanna in the past.

Sunny’s Father Dharmendra had earlier in 2004 represented Bharatiya Janata Party from Bikaner Lok Sabha Seat. While Dharmendra’s wife and stepmother of Sunny Deol Hema Malini is a sitting MP from UP’s Mathura and seeking reelection in the national elections 2019.

Actor Vinod Khanna had represented Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Seat many times from 1998 to 2017. Khanna passed away in April 2017. Later in by-polls of 2017, Congress Sunil Jakhar defeated BJP’s Swaran Salaria.

Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting. General Elections have already started and is being held on all 7 phases from April 11 to May 19.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in the state has inked a pre-poll alliance with Shiromani Akali Dal. The NDA alliance in the national polls will take on  Congress, AAP, Punjab Democratic Alliance comprising seven parties including one floated by Sukhpal Singh Khaira.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here