Supreme Court agrees to hear plea of disqualified legislators from Karnataka; directs registrar to look into urgent listing

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Saurabh Parmar
Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development). A Writer by Profession. Administration Enthusiast by Passion. Altruist by Heart. That's enough about Me!

Country’s apex court has agreed on Tuesday to hear out the pleas submitted by disqualified legislators from Karnataka. It said that the registrar of the court will look into the urgent listing of pleas filed by 15 disqualified legislators of Karnataka.

This decision comes as a surprise as on Monday, the Supreme Court had rejected to entertain their pleas. The 15 disqualified legislators belonged to the Congress-JD(S) alliance. They were disqualified by Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar under the Anti-defection law provided by 10th schedule.

The disqualified leaders of the coalition have approached the court to seek relief in the matter. They are demanding to scrap the orders of their disqualification by KR Ramesh Kumar dated July 28, 2019, since their resignations were “genuine and voluntary” in nature. The filed plea claims that the leaders had submitted their resignations themselves on July 6. They also appeared in person as per the court orders to submit their papers on July 11.

The petition read, “The Speakers’ insistence on them attending the proceedings before him on the date of the trust vote clearly speaks volumes of the manner in which the disqualification proceedings have been conducted against them.”

The legislators have termed Speakers’ move as illegal and arbitrary. Though the Speaker had justified his stand by saying that he has used his judicial conscience and the defected legislators committed a serious breach of rules. Kumar had disqualified 17 rebel MLAs in the related matter. It is said that they all defected from their party alliance to join the Bhartiya Janta Party. A massive shift of allegiance of this scale to the saffron party led to the collapse of HD Kumaraswamy‘s government.

Disqualified legislators include Byrati Basavraj, Anand Singh, R Roshan Baig, Muniratna, K Sudhakar, MTB Nagaraj, Pratap Gouda Patil, Shrimant Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, BC Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, ST Someshekhar, Mahesh Kumatahalli and R Shankar from the Congress and JD(S) legislators AH Vishwanath, Gopalaiah and Narayana Gowda.

ALSO READ: Karnataka Speaker disqualifies 14 more rebels from Assembly; majority mark reduces to 104


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Uber partners DocsApp to offer healthcare benefits

New Delhi, Oct 15 (IANS) Cab aggregator Uber on Tuesday partnered DocsApp to avail free medical consultations, subsidised prescription...

Rajnath pushes for indigenisation of defence equipment

New Delhi, Oct 15 (IANS) Pushing for indigenisation, Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday urged scientists in the Defence Research and Development Organisation...

UP MLA murder case: Mukhtar Ansari’s acquittal challenged

New Delhi, Oct 15 (IANS) The Delhi High Court on Tuesday admitted a plea challenging the acquittal of gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari and others in...

Workforce can’t get same pay as executives, says HAL

Bengaluru, Oct 15 (IANS) Rejecting the employees' demand for higher wage revision, the state-run Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) on Tuesday said workers could not...

Siddhanth Kapoor happy about his debut as playback singer

Mumbai, Oct 15 (IANS) Actor Siddhanth Kapoor has made his singing debut with the song "Kash phir se"...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This