Another Jolt to Chandrababu Naidu: TDP MLC Annam Satish Prabhakar joins BJP in presence of JP Nadda


In another jolt to Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party, its Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Annam Satish Prabhakar on Friday joined Bharatiya Janata Party in the national Capital. Prabhakar joined the Saffron party in the presence of Working President Jagat Prakash Nadda.

Bharatiya Janata Party is currently working on its 5-week long mega membership drive and targeting to increase its members by 20-30% across India.

The latest development came days after many TDP Leaders including its spokesperson Lanka Dinakar joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on June 27.

Last month, TDP’s four out of its six Rajya Sabha MPs from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana shifted their loyalties to Bharatiya Janata Party. 

Accompanied by BJP Working President JP Nadda and Party Leader of Rajya Sabha Thawar Chand Gehlot, three TDP MPs – YS Chowdary, CM Ramesh, and TG Venkatesh met Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairperson M Venkaiah Naidu. They passed a resolution to merge Legislature Party of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) with Bharatiya Janata Party in Rajya Sabha.

Later another Rajya Sabha MP G.Mohan Rao also joined Bharatiya Janata Party.

Till now over 10 leaders, including Rajya Sabha MPs, MLC, Spokesperson and other leaders, from Chandrababu Naidu’s team jumped ship to join Bharatiya Janata Party.

The development came on the backdrop when the party is facing a crisis after facing a crushing defeat in the national and state elections.

TDP in the polls suffered a huge defeat in Andhra Pradesh and only manage to win 23 Assembly seats in 175-member assembly. While in national polls, TDP could only manage to win 3 Seats while YSRCP bag 22 Lok Sabha Seats out of 25 seats in the state.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here