The Indian Wire » Politics » ‘Tejashwi Yadav will not follow Rahul Gandhi’s footprints’, clarifies RJD amid demand of resignation

‘Tejashwi Yadav will not follow Rahul Gandhi’s footprints’, clarifies RJD amid demand of resignation

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), an ally of Congress in Bihar, on Thursday made it clear that party leader Tejashwi Yadav will not follow Rahul Gandhi’s way and will continue as the Leader of Opposition in the Bihar Assembly.

RJD spokesperson Bhai Virendra said, “Tejashwi is not a leader who will leave the responsibility of leading the opposition midway.” Virendra made the remark while responding to Congress MLA Rajesh Kumar who said Yadav should follow the footprints of Rahul Gandhi.

The RJD’s statement came amid demands from the parties, as well from Congress, that Tejashvi Yadav should follow the footprints of Rahul Gandhi who had on Wednesday officially step down from the Congress Top Post.

RJD Leader and Leader of Opposition in Bihar Assembly, Tejashwi finally made an appearance in the state Assembly on Thursday after skipping four days of the ongoing Monsoon Session. Yadav had on Saturday clarified that he had been undergoing treatment.

Earlier on Wednesday, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) MP Chirag Paswan had demanded Tejashwi Yadav’s resignation as the Leader of Opposition saying that RJD Leader is not performing his duties.

While Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) State leader Sanjay Maunkh also vowed for the same demand. Maunkh alleged that Yadav should resign taking moral responsibility for the defeat of RJD-led Grand Alliance in the Lok Sabha polls.

After massive poll setback and as the disenchantment within RJD grows, Tej Pratap Yadav, elder son of Lalu Yadav, who is said to be disgruntled with Tejashwi Yadav, had earlier backed his younger Brother. Taking to Twitter, Tej Pratap Yadav had said, ‘Those who don’t like Tejashwi’s leadership can leave, be it Mahagathbandhan or RJD, I will always stand by Tejashwi’.

RJD who led the opposition alliance comprising CongressRLSPJitan Ram Manjhi‘s HAM, among others faced a humiliating defeat in the national polls concluded on May 23. It has lost all the 20 contested seats including Misa Bharti who was pitched from Patliputra Seat.

The five-party alliance managed to get only one seat of Kishanganj. Dr. Mohammad Jawed of Congress won Kishanganj seat with a margin of 34,466 votes.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!