TMC’s Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty take oath as MP in Lok Sabha

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Trinamool Congress (TMC) winning candidate from West Bengal’s Basirhat Nusrat Jahan and Mimi Chakraborty from Jadavpur Lok Sabha Seat, on Tuesday, took oath as a member of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Both the two actors-turned-politicians could not take oath earlier as Nusrat Jahan recently got married to businessman Nikhil Jain and Chakraborty, a close friend of her, also attended the ceremony in Turkey.

Both Jahan and Chakraborty took the oath in Bangla, ended it with phrases such as Vande Mataram, Jai Hindi and Jai Bangla.

After taking the oath, tas a customary they two went up to Speaker Om Birla to touch his feet.

In the recently held national polls, Nusrat Jahan Ruhi of Trinamool Congress defeated Sayantan Basu of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with over 3 Lakh votes from Basirhat Lok Sabha Seat. While Mimi Chakraborty contesting from Jadavpur Lok Sabha Seat defeated Anupam Hazra of BJP with over 2.95 lakh votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in the national polls made a big dent in Mamata’s Stronghold West Bengal. The saffron party managed to give a big jolt to Mamata Banerjee‘s TMC by winning 18 seats out of total 42 Lok Sabha Seats of the state.

Bharatiya Janata Party has also improved its vote share from 17% in 2014 to over 40% in recently held national polls.

The State ruling Trinamool Congress won 22 seats down from 34 seats in 2014.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Pawar, Thackeray, Raut in midnight rendezvous

Mumbai, Nov 22 (IANS) Inching towards forming the Maharashtra government, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) President Sharad Pawar had a...

165 in fray for Karnataka assembly by-elections

Bengaluru, Nov 21 (IANS) A total of 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women, are in the fray for the 15 Assembly by-elections...

Anand eyes London through Tata Steel Chess tournament

Kolkata, Nov 21 (IANS) Five-time world champion Viswanathan Anand will have his eyes on London when he begins his campaign in the Tata Steel...

Several big names from Delhi in race for Goa DGP

New Delhi, Nov 21 (IANS) After the death of 1988 batch AGMUT cadre IPS officer Pranav Nanda, several big names from the IPS lobby...

Mamata nod to ministers’ public outbursts against me: Guv

Kolkata, Nov 21 (IANS) Facing a barrage of verbal counter-attacks from West Bengal ministers, Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar on Thursday targeted Chief Minister Mamata Baenrjee,...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This