TMC to support Congress candidate from West Bengal : RS Polls

bitcoin trading

Trinamool has nominated five candidates, Bhattacharya and Left Front(LF) nominee Bikash Bhattacharya entered the contest and making it a seven horse race for the six seats. After parleys with the Congress aspirant and the leader of Opposition Abdul Mannan, Mamata Banerjee reportedly said that all five of our candidates will win and we will support Congress’ Pradip Bhattacharya for the sixth seat.

LF chairman Biman Bose told the media they had no idea that Pradip Bhattacharya is contesting and that was announced unilaterally by Congress. So, they had to hold an emergency meeting and decide their candidate. “We have given our candidate. Who is supporting or not is their problem? If Trinamool has the guts, they can put up a candidate. They are supporting us because they know their sixth candidate will not win”, he said.

As per the West Bengal assembly arithmetic, the five Trinamool candidates — Derek O’Brien, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Dola Sen, Manas Bhunia and Santa Chettri — are expected to sail through on the strength of the party’s numbers.

West Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress has extended its support to Congress candidate Pradip Bhattacharya for the coming Rajya Sabha polls, opening up possibilities of a new political alignment in the state.