The Indian Wire » Politics » Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath as Uttarakhand CM
News Politics

Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath as Uttarakhand CM

trivendra singh rawat
Trivendra Singh Rawat has been sworn in as Chief Minister of Uttarakhand in a ceremony held at Raj Bhawan today.

Trivendra Singh Rawat, the elected leader of BJP legislators has been sworn in as the chief minister of Uttarakhand today. The high profile ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah.

Governor of Uttarakhand, KK Paul administrated the oath taking ceremony. Rawat took oath of the office and secrecy in the event which took place at the Raj Bhawan in Dehradun today. Along with the chief minister, 9 ministers took oath, in which, 2 have taken charge as ministers of state.

Out of the ministers who took oath today, the names of cabinet ministers include Madan Kaushik, Arvind Pandey, Subodh Uniyal, Yashpal Arya, Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat and Prakash Pant. Rekha Arya and Dhan Singh Rawat were the ones who took oath as the ministers of state.

Trivendra Singh has been associated with RSS since 1983. After being a pracharak for sangh from 1983-2002, he was given platform to contest elections in Uttarakhand in 2002. He was made regional in-charge for BJP in UP in general elections 2014 and given responsibility of BJP in Jharkhand ahead of assembly elections.

His continued work with the senior BJP leadership and a clean track record with sangh and a legislator in the state promoted him to the top post. BJP has registered an emphatic win in Jharkhand by winning 57 out of 70 seats. Rawat himself won from the Doiwala constituency with a margin of over 24,000 votes.

About the author

Kunwar Prithvi Singh Chauhan

Part time journalist, full-time observer. Editor-in-Chief at The Indian Wire. I cover updates related to business and startups.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!