Uttar Pradesh by-polls: Samajwadi Party releases fresh list of candidates for forthcoming state by-elections

For the upcoming by-polls in Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party has released the list of candidates. The party can be seen in fully charged mode ahead of the elections.

Major Ashish Chaturvedi will contest from Lucknow Cantt. while Samrat Vikas will fight from Govindnagar seat in Kanpur. The seats of Lucknow Cantt. and Govindnagar fell vacant after the sitting legislators of Bhartiya Janta Party, Satyadeo Pachauri and Rita Bahuguna Joshi were elected to the Lok Sabha in recent elections.

In another official notification issued earlier, Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi party had released the name of 5 candidates for Uttar Pradesh by-polls. Sudhakar Singh has been selected from Ghosi, while Nirbhay Singh Patel will fight from Manikpur.

The Samajwadi party fielded Gaurav Kumar Rawat from Zaidpur. Subhash Rai is the party’s choice from Jalalpur, while Brijesh Verma Patel will be the party candidate from Pratapgarh.

Chaudhary Indersen will fight from Gangoh, while Dr. Tanzeen Fatima will contest from Rampur. Smt. Kiran Bharti will stand from Balha seat.

Uttar Pradesh will go to by-polls for 11 of its assembly seats on October 21. Counting of votes will take place on October 24. List of constituencies that will go for bypolls are-

  1. Gangoh
  2. Rampur
  3. Iglas (SC)
  4. Lucknow Cantonment
  5. Govindnagar
  6. Manikpur
  7. Pratapgarh
  8. Zaidpur (SC)
  9. Jalalpur
  10. Balha (SC)
  11. Ghosi

The seats with SC means that they are reserved for ths Schedule Caste section.

Most of the seats fell vacant as the sitting legislators were elected to the Lok Sabha. Ghosi seat fell empty as its MLA Phagu Chauhan ws appointed as the Governor of Bihar.

Jumping in the race, Congress party has also announced the list of its candidates for the Uttar Pradesh by-polls. To access the Congress list, click here.

On Sunday morning, BJP also released the first list of 32 candidates for the forthcoming by-polls. To visit BJP’s list, click here.

ALSO READ: Samajwadi Party offers an olive branch to Shivpal Yadav; calls to withdraw petition seeking his disqualification


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here