MDMK Chief Vaiko, 5 others take oath as members of Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu

DMK poll partner MDMK Vaiko, who was elected to the Upper House of the Parliament, on Thursday took oath as a member of the Rajya Sabha. MDMK’s Vaiko is a staunch supporter of the cause of Tamils in Sri Lanka. He was earlier associated DMK and was a member of the Upper House from DMK Quota from the year from 1978 to 1996.

With this Vaiko entered the Rajya Sabha after a gap of almost 23 years. Vaiko, 75, is the General Secretary of MDMK, his own political outfit which he floated after his separation from DMK.

He was earlier elected to the 12th and the 13th Lok Sabha representing Sivakasi Lok Sabha Seat. Vaiko’s MDMK contested the national polls in an alliance with MK Stalin’s DMK. As per the poll pact, DMK had promised a seat to MDMK in Rajya Sabha.

However, there were speculations about the validity of Vaiko’s nomination after Chennai Court sentenced one-year jail term to Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) General Secretary Vaiko in connection with a case of 2009 for giving a seditious speech.

However, his nomination was announced valid as he was sentenced for just one year of imprisonment. It should be noted that as per the Representation of Peoples’ Act, one cannot contest elections of he/she convicted or sentence to an imprisonment term of 2 years.

Apart from Vaiko, four other newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs also took oath as members of the Upper House of the Parliament. PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss and two candidates each from the AIADMK and the DMK were elected unopposed to Upper House from the Tamil Nadu.

From AIADMK Rajya Sabha members A Muhammathjohn and N Chandrasekaran took the oath while from DMK, N Shanmugam and P Wilson took oath as a member of Rajya Sabha.

The Election Commission of India had on June 27 announced the biennial elections to 6 Rajya Sabha Seat of Tamil Nadu. The election held on July 18 to fill the vacancies arises due to the retirement of 5 Rajya Sabha MPs while one vacancy was created due to the election of DMK’s Kanimozhi 17th Lok Sabha.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here