Assembly Polls 2018: Voting begins in Rajasthan,Telangana

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Voting for the 119-seat Telangana Assembly and 199 out of 200-member Rajasthan Assembly began on Friday morning.  Voting in Alwar’s Ramgarh has been postponed in the wake of the death of BSP Candidate.

Polling began at 7 AM and will conclude at 5 PM in Telangana. Nearly 2.8 crore electors including 4.6 lakh differently-abled voters are exercising their franchise at 32 thousand 815 polling stations across the state.

A total of 1821 candidates including 139 women are in the fray across are for Telangana Assembly Polls.

TRS is contesting in all 119 seats while the BJP is fighting in 118 seats. The Congress who has formed an alliance is contesting in 99 seats, TDP on 13, TJS has fielded its candidates on 8 seats, while CPI in 3 seats.

Owaisi’s MIM is in the contest for 8 seats, NCP for 22 while BSP for 107 segments.

In Rajasthan, polling began at 8 in the morning and will continue till 5 in the evening. Over 4.74 crore voters are exercising their franchise which includes over 20 lakh voters who will cast their vote for the first time in the polls.

Union minister for information and broadcasting, youth affairs and sports Col.Rajyavardhan Rathore used his franchise with his wife and parents in Vaishali Nagar polling station in Jaipur this Morning.

Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje cast her vote in Jhalawar and Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal in Bikaner.

Nearly 52,000 polling booths, including at least one all- women booth in each constituency, have been set up.

2, 274 candidates including 189 women are in the fray for Rajasthan Assembly Elections.

Chief Electoral Officer Anand Kumar said arrangements have been made for differently abled citizens regarding their transportation, ramps and voter slips in Braille.

Counting of votes in both states will be taken up on Tuesday, December 11 along with other states Assembly Elections-Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram.

Telangana records 8.97%voter-turnout till 9 am, Rajasthan has 6.11% voter turnout till 9 am.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Samajwadi Party loses Lohia Trust Office

Lucknow, Sep 15 (IANS) The palatial Lohia Trust Office, one of the last remnants of the Samajwadi Party's (SP)...

Pedal-to-Metal: More steps, time needed for auto sector revival

By Rohit VaidNew Delhi/Mumbai, Sep 15 (IANS) With automobile industry's August sales touching the lowest level since 1997-98, industry insiders assert that the time...

The future of Broadcast TV (Column: Talking Point)

BY AMIT KHANNAFor over 30 years TV has been the dominant form of entertainment in India and the world. It is estimated that around...

Growth Quest: Stimulus measures to push equities higher (Market Outlook)

By Rohit VaidMumbai, Sep 15 (IANS) Growth inducing measures for exports along with housing sector is expected to push Indian equities higher during the...

Cox & Kings and the family of wealth destroyers

Mumbai, Sep 15 (IANS) Apart from the general weakness in the financial markets at present, sharp fall in some prominent stocks have taken retail...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This