Twitter is taking a big step in order to free up twitter handle. Twitter will start deleting every inactive account. The social media giant is sending emails to every inactive account with a warning: “sign in by December 11th, or your account will be history and its username will be up for grabs again”. Any account that hasn’t signed in for more than six months will receive the email alert.
The company explained the clean-up as part of an effort to “present more accurate, credible information” that people can rely on. It means that users will now be able to find a twitter account or some post easily.
“We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity,” said Twitter. Users do not have to tweet but they need to sign in to let Twitter know that the user is active. Twitter accounts who are active with a bot will not be deleted as long as the bot is active.
Twitter hasn’t yet said exactly when recouped usernames will be made available to existing users. The account removal process “will happen over many months — not just on a single day,” according to the spokesperson. So all the usernames will not be available on the 12th December but they will be available eventually.