Sat. Dec 10th, 2022
2021 Spanish Grand Prix

On May 22nd, Formula 1 is set to return with another exciting battle at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya which is 4.675 kilometres long and includes over 66 laps. The first Grand Prix here took place back in 1991 when Mansell finished just before Alain Prost and his teammate Riccardo Patrese to win the first-ever Spanish GP.

Drivers are usually fond of these kinds of circuits as it is a mix of both high and low-speed corners. Another interesting bit about Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is that the 2022 pre-season testing also took place here. As a result, there is a significant amount of advantage for several teams that are looking forward to grab their first podium.

Last year, it was Lewis Hamilton from Mercedes-AMG who won the Spanish Grand Prix. Also, Max Verstappen driving for the Red Bull Racing came second while Valettri Bottas who has been doing good with his new team clocked the third podium.

FORMULA 1 PIRELLI GRAN PREMIO DE ESPANA 2022 will start on 20th May with the First and Second Practice session scheduled on the same day. The Third Practice session followed by the Qualifying will take place on 21st May while it is the final race that has scheduled for 22nd May starting at 6:30 P.M. onwards (IST). Planning to witness this exciting race in Barcelona from home? Tune in to Star Sports or Disney+Hotstar to never miss any such event.

Wondering why you should be routing for the 2022 Spanish Grand Prix? Well, if you are visiting Barcelona by any chance the culture, food and beaches already make it one of the most exciting locations for holiday. The 2022 Formula 1 Grand Prix on the other hand is definitely a cherry on the cake.

Interestingly, it is also a home race for Spanish drivers, including Fernando Alonso and Carlos Sainz. Currently, the latter does have a faster car and therefore, expectations from the Ferrari driver are over the top.

By Harsh Rana

Full-time management student and a part-time automobile enthusiast. Not much happy about EVs taking over the V8, V10 and V12 motors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *