Wed. Mar 22nd, 2023
official twitter handle of icc

After the draw of the fourth match, India won the Border Gavaskar Trophy by a score of 2-1.

India had already won the first two test matches, taking the lead. Australia bounced back in the series after winning the third one.

Match Details

All eyes were on the fourth and final test match, organized at the newly built stadium in Ahmedabad.

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first.

Australia’s first Innings

Travis Head and Usman Khawaja opened the innings for the Australian team.

They both gave a slow start to the team when Travis lost his wicket to Ashwin.

The upcoming batsmen also did not score many runs as they lost their wickets.

As the wickets were falling, Cameron Green came to bat.

Cameron and Usman started to build great partnerships and even completed their half-centuries.

As they went further, they dragged their innings to centuries.

They both developed a strong partnership, but Ashwin took the wicket of Green.

By the knock of Usman of 180 runs, Australia built a total of 480 runs.

Ravindra Ashwin took a haul of five wickets.

India First Innings

Rohit Sharma opened the inning alongside Shubman Gill.

Rohit did not score many runs and lost his wicket to Kuhnemann.

After that, Shubman and Pujara formed a good partnership, and Shubman completed his half-century.

While Pujara was near his half-century, he lost his wicket to Murphy.

Then Virat came in to bat. The partnership between Virat and Gill put India in a strong position.

Virat completed his half-century while Gill registered his century.

Gill lost his wicket to Lyon when Virat completed his Test century after more than three years.

Each upcoming batsman played great knocks in achieving the total.

The great firing knock by Axar of 79 runs should remain in the memories for long as it was a watershed in the game.

With the knock of 186 runs by Virat, India took the lead by 91 runs and scored a total of 571.

Australia’s second-innings

On the last day, Australia came to bat and started to chase the lead given by the Indian team.

As the match went on, Australia’s batsmen played the entire last day, and the match got drawn at the end.

The Indian team won the series by a score of 2-1 and made it into the World Test Championship final.

India made their way to the final, all thanks to their win against Australia, and at the same time, New Zealand beat Sri Lanka in the test match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *