Kane Williamson’s New Zealand captain opt to field against South Africa


Birmingham, June 19 (IANS) New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to field against South Africa in their World Cup 2019 group game at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground on Wednesday.

While the unbeaten Black Caps remain unchanged for the clash, South Africa — who have managed just one win from five games — replaced Beuran Hendricks with pacer Lungi Ngidi.

Speaking at the toss, Williamson said: “We are going to bowl. Same side for us. The guys are ready to go. We thought about Sodhi, but stuck to the same team for this game. The past record against South Africa is irrelevant.”

South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis said: “We would have bowled as well. There is a bit of blue sky, hopefully the ball will come on nicely to the bat. The previous game was really good, there was real intensity from the team. Hopefully we can do something similar today. Lungi (Ngidi) is back for us. It’s another big game for us (smiles).”

Playing XI: South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis (Captain), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (Captain), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here