The Indian Wire » Sports » Lanka Premier League to begin on Aug 28

Lanka Premier League to begin on Aug 28

As per the Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC), the inaugural Lanka Premier League T20 tournament will begin on August 28. The Board gave its approval to the tournament on Monday. Five teams will compete in this tournament over 23 games.

“Sri Lanka Cricket Executive Committee at the meeting held today (27th July) granted approval to conduct the inaugural Lanka Premier League T20 Tournament from 28th August to 20th September 2020,” SLC said in a statement.

The tournament will take place in four venues, namely the R Premdasa International Cricket Stadium, Rangiri Dambulu International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium. The 5 teams will be named after the cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna.

The Board also stated that over 70 International players and 10 coaches have confirmed their availability. Leading Sri Lankan national players have also confirmed the same. Each franchise would pick a maximum of 6 foreign players in the squad. Only 4 international players will be a part of the playing eleven.

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!