Pakistan, West Indies, Australia and Bangladesh to visit New Zealand during 2021 Summer

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) CEO David White on Tuesday stated that Pakistan, Australia, Bangladesh and the West Indies have confirmed their tours to the country during the summer season.

White said the NZC is working to implement a bio-secure bubble. It will be similar to the one the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) is using in its on-going season. The NZC will use it to resume international cricket in the country post the pandemic.

“We are making tremendous progress. I was just on the phone to the West Indies, they’re confirmed, Pakistan is confirmed, Australia and Bangladesh… so 37 days of international cricket,” White stated.

White added that the women’s team will tour Trans-Tasman rivals Australia in September. The fixture is reversed from that slated for February.

“The White Ferns will tour Australia in September and then the Australia Women’s team will tour New Zealand in February. We are just working through the content but probably five ODIs and three T20Is,” White said.

As per the current Future Tours programme (FTP), New Zealand is to host West Indies and Pakistan for a Test and T20 series each. It will host Bangladesh for ODISs and T20Is, followed by Australia for T20 series.

New Zealand currently requires a 14-day isolation period on all international arrivals.

All cricketing activities came to a halt in late March due to the on-going pandemic. However, New Zealand is one of the least affected countries all over the world. The country has so far only had about 1500 cases, the majority of which have recovered.

On Monday, the country had announced that it had officially completed 100 days without recording a locally transmitted COVID-19 case.

New Zealand has a current requirement of a 14-day isolation period on all of its international arrivals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here