The Indian Wire » Sports » Virat Kohli nominated for Polly Umrigar Award
News Sports

Virat Kohli nominated for Polly Umrigar Award

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli has become the first Indian cricketer to be nominated for Polly Umrigar Award thrice. R Ashwin also becomes the first Indian Cricketer to receive Dilip Sardesai Award twice.

Indian Cricket Captain, Virat Kohli has been nominated for Polly Umrigar Award for the third time. This makes him the first ever Indian cricketer to receive this award thrice, after he received the same in 2011-2012 and 2014-2015. The award, which will be handed over to Virat Kohli on March 8th, 2017 is given to the International Cricketer of the year by Indian Cricket Board.

Virat Kohli has had a prolific form in all formats of cricket over the last few years. After taking over the captaincy from MS Dhoni in tests in December 2014, he had shown great improvement in his temperament and leadership skills. His performance in tests has been unmatched in the ongoing season.

Another cricketer to receive an award from BCCI this year is R Ashwin. Ashwin will become the first Indian to receive Dilip Sardesai Award twice. Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar have been nominated to receive Col. C.K. Nayudu award for lifetime achievement.

State Association of the Season award has been won by Mumbai Cricket Association for their terrific run of form in various formats and tournaments. Mumbai won CK Nayudu Trophy and Women’s plate league group. Mumbai was also runners up in Ranji Trophy, Cooch Behar Trophy (U19), Vijay Merchant Trophy (U16) and Women’s One Day Elite Group.

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!