The Indian Wire » Technology » Google now allows you auto-delete your location history
Technology

Google now allows you auto-delete your location history

Google has started rolling out the option to auto-delete location data history on Android and iOS. It will let users restrict how long Google can store location data and Web&Apps activity data as well.

“Auto-delete controls for Location History start rolling out today on Android and iOS, making it even easier for you to manage your data,” the Internet giant posted on Twitter late on Wednesday.

There are multiple steps to activate the feature. Visit Google Account’s My Activity section. Then tap the new “choose to delete automatically” option in the Location History area. Then choose preferred time frame — 3 or 18 months. One can also opt to delete data manually

“You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you — and we’re committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen,” David Monsees and Marlo McGriff, Google product managers, wrote on the Google Blog.

Google also says that the location “may still be saved in your Google Account when using other Google sites, apps, and services. For example, location data may be saved as part of an activity on Search and Maps when your Web & App Activity setting is on, and included in your photos depending on your camera app settings.” 

Location tracking and web and app activity history on Google will still remain until users have manually deleted them by default and the tech giant promises to improve user experience, search personalizations, and ad targeting.

With this new feature in place, users will now be able to set their tracking preferences to delete in three- or 18-month intervals.

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Advertisement