One of the most popular social media apps out there, Snapchat gives kids and teens what they really want: a simple way to share everyday moments while simultaneously making them look awesome. In addition, unlike Facebook and Twitter, which record and broadcast everything you do, Snapchat uses messages that are meant to disappear.
Snapchat has launched a new feature called Clear Chats. The name says it all really, as Clear Chats gives you the option to clear out messages and conversations from your chats. If the people in the conversation have already seen that message then there is no way of erasing it from their memories. However, if you are quick enough, you should be able to delete a message before anyone involved in the conversation has seen it.
Previously, text messages sent to your contacts on Snapchat remained in the message log until both parties viewed the chat or unless they sat unopened for 30 days. In-group chats, the messages deleted after 24 hours. There was also an option to clear an entire conversation, but not a single message.
How To Delete Message
To delete a message, all you need to do is open the conversation you want to delete a message from, press and hold on the offending message, and then hit Delete. The message will then disappear from view, never to be seen again. However, they will see a notice that you have deleted a line of text.
“When you delete a message, we’ll attempt to remove it from our servers and your friends’ devices, but this might not always work, like if someone has a bad internet connection or an old version of Snapchat,” Snapchat says in a notification.
The delete feature could offer users another layer of privacy by letting them take back messages sent in error or ones that they regret.
This works in the same way in which Snapchat friends can see when a person takes a screenshot of a message or a chat window. The delete feature works for messages between individuals and groups.
Clear Chats is rolling out now on Android and on iOS.