Lok Sabha Polls 2019: EC condemns Giriraj Singh communal statement; issues warning

New Delhi, May 12: The Election Commission on Sunday censured Union Minister Giriraj Singh for his remarks made last month and warned him to be careful about his public utterances.

The Chief Electoral Officer of Bihar had forwarded the copy of a video clip of a speech made by Singh in Begusarai from where he is contesting on a BJP ticket to the EC.

The EC said Singh has violated the directions of the Supreme Court and the provisions of the model code of conduct which state that there will be no appeal to caste or communal feelings for securing votes.

Singh had made the remarks directed at the Muslim community. The Commission was informed that an FIR was lodged against him in this connection.

Condemning the remarks, the poll panel in its order warned Singh “to remain careful in his public utterances during the currency of model code of conduct.”

Earlier the BJP Candidate from Begusarai Giriraj Singh was served a show cause notice for making controversial and communal remarks while addressing a poll gathering on April 24.

BJP Candidate Giriraj who had in 2014 won from Nawada has been shifted to Begusarai for mega polls 2019. Singh in a run-up to the national polls 2019 is facing a three-way competition with CPI‘s Kanhaiya Kumar and RJD’s Tanveer Hasan in the fray.

Begusarai to elect a new MP voted on April 29 as a part of Phase-IV.

Earlier, Election Commission filed a case against Giriraj Singh for his remarks on “green flags”. FIR against the union minister was lodged under the Representation of the People Act sections 125 and 153 A, 295A, 171C, 188, 505, 298 of the IPC. The Election Commission alleged that Union Minister hurt the sentiments of a section of the minority group by hurling religious statements.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. All 40 parliamentary seats of the state will go to polls in all seven phases till May 19.

Phase-VII is slated for May 19. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here