Karnataka Crisis: Congress holds CLP meet to save coalition govt; Dinesh Gundu Rao says ‘govt is safe’

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1168037199767457792 Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Amidst the ongoing political crisis in Karnataka, Congress on Tuesday held its Legislative Party (CLP) to review the political situation of the state. The meeting was called to make efforts to keep the 13-month-old government intact.

The meeting was attended by all the MLAs and top leaders of the party.

Speaking to media after the meeting, Congress Leader DK Shivkumar slammed the BJP and accused it of being involved in Karnataka Episode. Shivkumar said, ‘Mr Rajnath Singh is telling that ‘we are nowhere bothered, we are not interested, we don’t know about this’ (political situation in Karnataka). BS Yeddyurappa is also saying the same, but he is sending his PA to pick up all our Ministers’.

Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh had on Monday, speaking in the Lok Sabha, denied BJP’s involvement in Karnataka crisis.

While Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President Dinesh Gundu Rao asserted confidence that the Coalition government is safe. Speaking to media, Rao said, ‘I am confident that the government will survive and the government will stay. That I am confident about’.

While earlier on Monday, all the JD-S and Congress Ministers step down from the making in a bid to accommodate the rebels in the cabinet to keep the government intact.

READ: Karnataka Crisis: After Congress, JD-S Ministers step down too; Cabinet reshuffle soon, says CM HD Kumaraswamy

BJP, in the meantime, demanded the resignation of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy for losing the confidence of the house.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) State President BS Yeddyurappa said that government has no majority in the house and have no moral rights to continue.

The quick turn of events comes days after 11 MLAs from Congress–JD(S) ruling coalition meet Assembly Speaker on Saturday and tendered their resignation giving a big blow to the coalition government.

With the resignation of 11 MLAs of Congress-JDS and 2 Independent MLAs, the coalition government reduced to a minority with 104 MLAs which is 9 less than the required figures.

Lawmakers including Ramalinga Reddy, Anand Singh, BC Patil, H Vishvanath, Narayan Gowda, Shivaram Hebbar, Mahesh Kumathalli, Gopalaiah, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Pratap Gowda Patil among others have submitted their resignations. The Assembly Speaker is yet not taken a call.

Speaking to media, Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Tuesday said, ‘I am nowhere related to the current political developments. I am acting as per the Constitution. Till now, no MLA has sought an appointment with me. If anyone wants to meet me, I will be available in my office’.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Mamata-Modi meet likely on Wednesday

Kolkata, Sep 16 (IANS) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee would call on Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi...

Anveshi Jain looks smoldering hot in THESE recent photos

Anveshi Jain is an Indian actress, who got into limelight from ALTBalaji online TV series "Gandii Baat Season 2". She was also seen in...

V Unbeatable to dance on Ranveer Singh hit in America’s Got Talent final

New Delhi, Sep 16 (IANS) Mumbai-based dance group V Unbeatable will once again dance on a hit song of Ranveer Singh in the finale...

Now, BJP-ruled Assam presses hold button on auto rate cut

By Nirbhay KumarNew Delhi, Sep 16 (IANS) Days after Kerala vehemently opposed proposal to cut tax rate on automobiles to 18 per cent from...

Indonesia probes firms over fires on Sumatra, Borneo

Jakarta, Sep 16 (IANS) More than 30 companies on Sumatra and Borneo islands are being investigated by Indonesian authorities on suspicion of causing some...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This