Lok Sabha Polls: Rahul Gandhi to hold rallies in Punjab today; to seek votes in Faridkot, Bathinda

With just days left for the last phase of elections, Congress President Rahul Gandhi intensifying its hunt to make a comeback at Centre will address marathon rallies in Punjab to seek votes for his party candidates. As scheduled, Congress Chief is slated to address two rallies in the state where polls are due for May 19.

Congress Chief will speak in Faridkot and Ludhiana district of the state. He will be accompanied by Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh.

In Ludhiana Lok Sabha Seat, Congress President will seek votes for sitting MP Ravneet Singh Bittu of Congress. Bittu is up against Maheshinder Singh of Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). While AAP has named Professor Tejpal Singh Gill. In 2014 national polls, Bittu won the seat with a slim margin of 40,000 votes by defeating AAP’s HS Phoolka.

While in Faridkot Lok Sabha Seat, Congress Chief will seek votes for party candidate Muhammed Sadiq who is up against AAP sitting MP Sadhu Singh. While SAD has forged an alliance Gulzar Singh Ranike.

Rahul Gandhi was also slated to visit Alwar to meet the gang-rape victim on Wednesday. However, his visit was cancelled due to bad weather.

Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi’s sister and party general secretary Priyanka Gandhi visited Punjab on Tuesday. She addressed a huge gathering in Bathinda and held a roadshow in Pathankot.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: AAP plans back-to-back roadshows of Arvind Kejriwal in Punjab

Congress in the state is taking on AAP, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) who has already announced its poll alliance with Bhartiya Janta Party.

General Elections 2019 is in the last leg and last phase polling will be held on May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.C

Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here