India’ candidature for non-permanent UNSC seat ‘unanimously’ endorsed by Asia-Pacific group

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...

Washington DC, June 26: India’s candidature for the  United Nations security council (UNSC) non-permanent seat for a two-year term has been approved unanimously by the Asia-Pacific group.

In a tweet, Indian permanent representative to the UN ambassador Syed Akbaruddin said, “A unanimous step. Asia-Pacific Group @UN unanimously endorses India’s candidature for a non-permanent seat of the Security Council for a 2-year term in 2021/22. Thanks to all 55 members for their support.”

The message, along with a video, further said, “Asia-Pacific Group endorses India for Non-Permanent seat of UNSC 55 countries, 1 nominee – India for a non-permanent seat of UN Security Council Term 2021-2022.”

Nations like Vietnam, UAE, Turkey, Syria, Sri Lanka, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Pakistan, Nepal, Myanmar, Maldives, Malaysia, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Japan, Iran, Indonesia, China, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan has backed India’s candidature.

The UNSC consists of 15 members which include 5 permanent members and 10 non-permanent nations.

Every year, the UN elects five nations to the 15-member UNSC (10 of whom are non-permanent members) for maximum a two-year term, as per a geographical roration scheme set in 1963 by the assembly, in order to ensure fair regional representations, five from Pacific, Asian and African states, two from Latin American states, two from Western European, one from Eastern Europe, and other states (WEOG).

Five nations have secured non-permanent member seats in the UNSC after the United Nations general assembly on May 9 conducted a secret ballot.

The five countries who have secured to be part of UNSC are VietnamTunisia, Niger, Estonia, Saint Vincent, and the Grenadines – the smallest country ever to be nominated for a seat in the UNSC.

Several nations have been for long backing India’s candidature for the UNSC permanent membership. India, a founding member of the UN, is among the largest contributors (nation) of troops to the UN peacekeeping mission. India has been elected seven times to the UNSC as a non-permanent member, mostly around 2011 to 2012.


Also read:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

India pip Bangladesh, clinch SAFF U15 women’s C’ship

Thimpu (Bhutan), Oct 15 (IANS) India emerged champions of the SAFF U-15 womens championship 2019 at the Chalimithang Stadium...

Policeman killed, 10 injured in IED blast in Pakistan

Islamabad, Oct 15 (IANS) A policeman was killed and 10 other people sustained injuries in an improvised explosive device (IED) blast triggered by unidentified...

Have no links with any mafia, says Praful Patel (Lead)

Mumbai, Oct 15 (IANS) Senior NCP leader and former Union Minister Praful Patel on Tuesday dismissed charges of alleged links with the mafia as...

‘Not biased’: SC judge slams campaign seeking his recusal (Lead)

New Delhi, Oct 15 (IANS) Supreme Court judge Arun Mishra on Tuesday expressed anguish at a social media campaign and news reports seeking his...

Railways to run promotional trains, Housefull 4 crew first taker

New Delhi, Oct 15 (IANS) Struggling with high operation cost, the Indian Railways has come up with a unique idea to increase its revenue...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This