HD Kumaraswamy: JDS will contest on all 15 seats in upcoming Karnataka by-polls on December 5

Ahead of the upcoming by-polls to the 15 seats in Karnataka state, Former chief minister and JDS leader HD Kumaraswamy said that his party will field candidates on all 15 seats.

As quoted by ANI, he said, “We are going to field candidates on all 15 seats going to bye-election. My top priority is to help the people out on the street because of this flood situation.

The leader also lashed out at the BJP government for not working towards the flood-relief measures of the victims. He said that the flood situation is worst in 13 districts. He further iterated that people are not satisfied with the efforts of flood-relief work.

HD Kumaraswamy also said that he will not support any party, be it the ruling Bhartiya Janta Party.

Turning political heat to the next level, Congress leader Siddaramaiah had said that if his party wins 15 seats in by-polls, Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa has to give resignation and Congress will go for a fresh election without allying with the JD-S again.

By-elections to the 15 assembly seats in Karnataka are slated to take place on December 5. as the legislators on these seats were disqualified. Previously the Election Commission had announced that the elections will happen on October 21, however, since the matter is under the purview of the nation’s top court, therefore the dates of polls have been postponed to December 5.

The assembly constituencies that will go to polls-

  1. Athani
  2. Kagwad
  3. Gokak
  4. Yellapur
  5. Hirekerur
  6. Ranibennur
  7. Vijayanagara
  8. Chikkaballapur
  9. KR Pura
  10. Yeshvanthapura
  11. Mahalakshmi
  12. Shivajinagar
  13. Hosakote
  14. Krishnarajpet
  15. Hunsur

Karnataka Disqualification case:-

Former Speaker of Karnataka legislative assembly, KR Ramesh Kumar had disqualified the 17 legislators of the CongressJD(s) coalition under anti-defection law stated in the 10th schedule. The MLAs have argued the court to quash the orders of their disqualification dated July 28, 2019, since their resignations were “genuine and voluntary” in nature.

Disqualified leaders include disqualified legislators include Byrati Basavraj, Anand Singh, R Roshan Baig, Muniratna, K Sudhakar, MTB Nagaraj, Pratap Gouda Patil, Shrimant Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, BC Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, ST Someshekhar, Mahesh Kumatahalli and R Shankar from the Congress and JD(S) legislators AH Vishwanath, Gopalaiah and Narayana Gowda.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here