The Indian Wire » Politics » General Elections 2019: BJP To Go Alone On Both Lok Sabha Seats in Meghalaya
News Politics

General Elections 2019: BJP To Go Alone On Both Lok Sabha Seats in Meghalaya

Bhartiya Janta Party on Tuesday announced that it will not align with any party in Meghalaya in upcoming General Elections 2019. The Party said that it will go alone in the North-East State that has two parliamentary seats in the Lower House – Shillong and Tura.

The Decision not to align with any party in Meghalaya came after the saffron party held deliberations with the Party leaders and workers in the meeting that was presided by the North East General Secretary Ajay Jamuwa.

Following the meeting BJP State Leader AL Hek while talking to reporters said that ‘We have decided to contest the Lok Sabha elections from both the parliamentary seats in Meghalaya’.

READ: Polls in Andhra, Arunachal, Sikkim, Odisha likely to be clubbed with Lok Sabha’19

Currently, Bhartiya Janta Party is a party Coalition Government with National Peoples Party(NPP). Both NPP and BJP in the state is under North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) and Meghalaya Democratic Alliance(MDA).

State Leader further revealing about the details said since now Party has received 4 applications from the candidates that are will to contest on Shillong and Tura. However, the final call on the ticket distribution will be only taken by the State Election Committee which will be formed soon.

He added that a Delegation of State Leaders will meet party national President Amit Shah later this week and will inform the decision to go alone in the north-east state.

BJP decision came after Meghalaya Democratic Alliance failed to come in any consensus for two Lok Sabha Seats. United Democratic Party (UDP) who is also a part of MDA earlier decided to field its general secretary Jemino Mawthoh as the candidate in one of the seats. However, other regional parties who are also a part of MDA –  HSPDP, PDF and the KHNAM are yet to make public if they support UDP call or not.

Earlier in the 27 Tribal Council Elections, BJP in the wake of facing amidst protest following Citizenship Amendment Bill not filed any of the candidates.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!