Nomination papers filed for the second phase of assembly elections in Telangana

Candidates for local polls filed papers for the Mandal Parishad (MPTC) and Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency (ZPTC) elections at the Mandal Parishad Development Office in Yalal, Basheerbad, and Peddemul mandal.

Almost 84 candidates have filed nomination papers for the 85 MPTCs on Friday, the first day of nominations. 74 candidates filed papers for 82 MPTCs in Bhadradri-Kothagudem district. Twelve nominations were filed from ZPTCs in Enkoor, Kalluru, Penuballi, Sattupalli, Thallada and Vemsoor that will be going to polls in the second phase of the elections. Eight ZPTCs will be going to polling on May 10.

The deadline to file nomination papers for first phase of elections in ZPTCs was on Wednesday. Almost 506 nominations were filed for MPTC seats whereas 60 were filed for ZPTC seats in the first phase of elections, according to a report from Hans.

The TRS faces strong opposition from its own rebel party leaders in the Khammam district where nominations were filed in huge numbers from rebel party leaders. These rebels deferred from their senior party leaders in issuing B forms to party members who defected from the Congress party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here