16th Odisha Legislative Assembly session to begin from June 25, State budget on Jun 28

The first session of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly will begin from June 25, said a notification issued by the Assembly Secretariat on Monday. The notification added that session of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly will begin with State Governor Ganeshi Lal’s address.

The House will elect a deputy’s speaker on June 27. The First session will have 30 working days and will be held in two phases. The first Session will start from June 25 and will continue till July 2. While the second phase will resume from July 12 and will continue till August 8.

Newly appointed Finance Minister Niranjan Pujari will table the Budget on June 28. While the Appropriation Bill on the budget for the year 2019-20 will be presented in the House on July 31.

READ: Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik allocates portfolios, Keeps Home; Niranjan Pujari gets Finance

The first session of the 16th State Assembly will witness Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with 23 MLAs taking the role of the state’s main opposition party.

Prior to this, Congress was the main opposition party in the Assembly ever since the BJD government came to power in Odisha in 2000.

However, the BJP legislature party is yet to pick its Leader of the assembly. BJP Lawmakers Jay Narayan Mishra and Pradipta Naik are among the front runners for the Leader of the Opposition post.

State Polls and national elections in the state held simultaneously.

BJD in the recently concluded state polls won 112 seats, 5 less than what they had won in 2014 State polls. While BJP won 23, Congress 9 and one each bag by CPI-M and Independent Candidate. Odisha has a total of 147 Assembly seats.

While in national polls, BJD won 12, BJP managed to make inroads in the state with its victory on 8 Lok Sabha Seats while Congress only won a single Lok Sabha Seat.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here