LS Polls 2019: Punjab Democratic Alliance comprising Sukhpal Singh Khaira’s party announces 7 Candidates in Punjab

In a big boost to Punjab Democratic Alliance on Monday, Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Revolutionary Marxist Party of India (RMPI Palsa Group) joined hands with the alliance in a run-up to the general elections day after EC announced poll dates.

Punjab Democratic Alliance who comprises of Sukhpal Singh Khaira‘s Punjabi Ekta Party (PEP), Mayawati Led Bahujan Samaj Party and Lok Insaaf Party (LIP) has also announced candidates on seven out of 13 Lok Sabha seat in Punjab.

Former AAP Leader and MP Dharamveer Gandhi’s new political outfit Nava Punjab Party is also a party of Punjab Democratic Alliance. Former AAP Lawmaker Sukhpal Singh Khaira, the chief of Punjabi Ekta Party and the front leader of the Punjab Democratic Alliance announced the names of seven candidates in a joint presser after the meeting of all parties in Chandigarh.

READ: Shiromani Akali Dal Announces First Candidate for LS Polls in Punjab; Bibi Jagir Kaur to Contest From Khadoor Sahib

Apart from Khaira, CPI State Secretary Bant Singh Brar, Nava Punjab Chief Gandhi, LIP president Simarjeet Singh Bains, BSP state chief Rashpal Singh Raju, RMPI faction general secretary Mangat Ram Pasla was also present in the joint press briefing.

Khaira while briefing the media said that BSP, Punjab Ekta Party and the Lok Insaaf party has been allotted 3 seats each for the General Elections while Nava Punjab Party, CPI and the RMPI have been given one each seat to ‘play on’. He added that decision on Sangrur Parliamentary Seat has not been taken yet.

Khaira also said that breakaway faction of SAD, Shiromani Akali Dal (Taksali) to withdraw their candidates and join the PDA to defeat the two parties (Congress and Akali Dal)

List of Seven Candidates released by Punjab Democratic Alliance
  1. Dr Dharamvira Gandhi (Nava Punjab) from Patiala Lok Sabha Seat. He had in 2014 General Elections elected from Patiala on AAP Ticket. However, he was later suspended by the party for his alleged anti-party activities
  2. Bibi Paramjit Kaur Khalra (PEP) from Khadoor Sahib Lok Sabha Seat. She is a patron of the Khalra Mission. On the same seat, SAD has announced Bibi Jagir Kaur.
  3. Baldev Singh (PEP) from Faridkot (Reserved) Lok Sabha Seat. He is an AAP rebel Lawmaker
  4. Manwinder Singh Giaspura (LIP) from Fatehgarh (Reserved) Lok Sabha Seat.
  5. Vikram Singh Sodhi (BSP) from Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Seat. He has joined BSP recently. He is an international polo player.
  6. Khushi Ram (BSP) from Hoshiarpur (reserved) Lok Sabha Seat. He is a retired IAS Officer and joined BSP in 2018. He was state president of Bahujan Kranti Morcha formed jointly by Backward and Minority Communities Federation and Bharat Mukti Morcha.
  7. Balwinder Kumar (BSP) from Jalandhar (reserved) Lok Sabha seat. He had in 2017 unsuccessfully contested Assembly Polls. He is BSP State Secretary and a former journalist.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has already announced its poll alliance with Bhartiya Janta Party, with BJP will contest on 3 Lok Sabha Seats while Shiromani Akali Dal will field its candidates on remaining 10 Lok Sabha Seats. Punjab has a total of 13 Lok Sabha Seats.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here