The Indian Wire » Politics » PM Modi, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari among others take oath as Member of 17th Lok Sabha
News Politics

PM Modi, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari among others take oath as Member of 17th Lok Sabha

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday took oath as a member of the 17th Lok Sabha after being re-elected from Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat in the recent parliamentary elections.

Speaking to media in the parliament complex, PM Modi said, ‘Every word of the Opposition is important.” He added as quoted by ANI, “The role of an active Opposition is important. The opposition need not bother about their numbers. I hope they will speak actively and participate in house proceedings.”

According to rules, Modi as leader of the house is the first member to take the oath while
ministers and other MPs will be invited to take oath in the new Lok Sabha later. The swearing-in ceremony of newly-elected MPs will be spread over two days.

Oath to all newly elected MPs will be administrated by the Protem Speaker who was earlier in the day administrated oath by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Among other MPs who took oath as of now include Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Harsimrat Kaur Badal among others were till now administrated oath by Protem Speaker Dr. Virendra Kumar till now.

In the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha that begins from today, the new government plans aims to convert 10 ordinances into law. All those ordinances were approved by the Union Cabinet in February-March this year by the previous government.

Election to elect a new Speaker of the House will be held on June 19th. BJP MP Maneka Gandhi is among the top contenders for the post. While Both the Houses – Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha – will take on the motion of thanks and PM Modi will reply on the same.

While the President Ram Nath Kovind will address the joint session of both the houses  Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha –  on 20th June.

The Economic Survey will be released on the 4th of July a day before. While next day, that is on July 5th, new Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will table the full-fledged budget in the House.

The government had in February this year presented an Interim Budget.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!