Political detainees of Kashmir likely to be released, no relief for 5 top leaders

Sajad Lone

Even though Kashmir has witnessed the longest internet shutdown as well as curfew in their region after abrogation of article 370, ‘normalcy’ seems to be returning to the valley, as stated by government officials.

Amid the deafening silence in the valley, political leaders who were detained and kept at a hostel in Srinagar are likely to be released this month. However, sources suggest that there will be no relief for 5 leaders.

A report by The Indian Express says that senior leader of PDP Naeem Akhtar, National Conference general secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar, former IAS officer and Jammu Shah Faesal (presently Kashmir People’s Movement president), Sajad Lone (the chief of Peoples’ Conference) and PDP youth wing president Waheed ur Rehman Para are the five leaders who will continue to remain under detention.

The source of The Indian Express quoted, “Barring these five individuals, others are likely to be released in batches slowly. At least six individuals are scheduled to be released this week subject to their signing of release bonds.”

Due to the situation that prevailed in the valley post abrogation of Article 370, more than 55 political leaders were detained and kept in MLA hostel in Srinagar. 26 out of them are still under detention. Prominent political faces like the former Chief Ministers and National Conference leaders Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and PDP’s Mehbooba Mufti are also likely to remain under detention.

The Abdullah family has been out under custody ever since the Centre repealed Article 370 in the valley. The leaders were taken under house arrest ever since then.

Earlier, MPs rocked the parliament during the winter session, demanding presence of Farooq Abdullah in the house. Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury said that the leader has been locked up in for 108 days. DMK leader TR Baalu and Trinamool Congress member Saugata Roy had urged the Speaker to issue directions to the Union government for ensuring the presence of Farooq Abdullah in the Lok Sabha.

In August 2019, the parliament approved the resolution that proposed to revoke Article 370 from Jammu and Kashmir with 351 MPs voting in its favor, while 72 parliamentarians voted against the bill, while one abstained from voting. Eventually, dividing the state into 2 union territories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here